Hoping Against Hope

Yesterday I had ECT and this time experienced a bifrontal seizure, seizure on both sides of the frontal lobe. I had been receiving unipolar seizures, just on one side. But since I’m not getting enough lifted mood from those, my doctor suggested bifrontal ECT. The downside to it is a stronger possibility of memory problems. But I’d already been experiencing memory issues with the last couple unipolar ECT treatments, such as forgetting where we keep the mugs

Symbols I'm Pondering: Where are the mugs?

or other kitchen items, or what street we’re on as we drive back from the hospital.

 

And so I said yes to bifrontal ECT. What more do I have to lose? Maybe my seminary education?

All day yesterday I felt “off” and a bit sick, not my normal self at all. Thoughts were slow and labored. I even took a nap before dinner and still went to bed at 8:30pm.

Now I feel a bit better. Here’s hoping against hope that this does the trick to lift my mood, help me feel better, and set me on the right path. I still am not sure it will but I’m trying to hope.

 

 

5 responses to “Hoping Against Hope

  1. I have had major memory problems with my meds. as well. I hope that this treatment moves things in the right direction.

  2. Hoping right along with you.

  3. If your hubby is a practical joker he just might start moving those mugs around to keep you on your toes 😉

    Hoping that things are moving in the right direction!

  4. Most of my memory problems probably stem all the pot I smoked when I was younger! LOL…keep it up, Deb…you’re gonna do fine! Besides, I’ve been trying to put some of my seminary education behind me since the day I graduated. Be blessed…

  5. Praying that each treatment leads to an overall improvement.

Leave a Reply

