What Do You Like To Do?

According to my wise therapist, part of this grieving process with the books is manifesting in the racing thoughts and memories I have upon waking and several times a day, even in my sleep at times. Dealing with the feelings and the grief includes noticing what I did like about things I did in the last 18 years of my life, and noticing those I didn’t like or didn’t suit me. They will help me figure out next steps when the time is right.

Here is a breakdown of some of the things my memories have been teaching me. They are not in rank order, just in the order of how I thought of them. I’ll update the list from time to time and share it with you.

Enjoyed

  • Working with youth, empowering them to make healthy choices and expecting them to bring ideas and wisdom to decision tables.
  • Advocating for youth among other adults to get their voices heard.
  • Planning retreats or events
  • Leading retreats
  • Written or Social Media publicity – graphics & content
  • Worship planning and liturgy writing or searching for it
  • Leading worship and celebrating the sacraments
  • Teaching religious/spiritual education classes for youth or adults
  • Hospital visitation of folks I knew from the congregation (not strangers)
  • Work with a team of people – staff, volunteers, etc – to accomplish tasks

Disliked

  • Volunteer recruitment
  • Conflict resolution
  • Staring at a computer screen waiting for inspiration for a sermon
  • Children’s ministry, except for Godly Play
  • Home or hospital visitations, especially with those who could not speak much (don’t do small talk well)
  • Working alone in a building
  • Always having tasks to do that involve moving or lifting something and so I knew it would hurt my back
4 responses to “What Do You Like To Do?

  1. Suzanne D'Spain

    Have been following from afar and am heartened to see that you are recovering. My best to you in your continuing quest for wellbeing. My prayers are with you. Suzanne

  2. This is a great way to start a personal mission statement!!

Leave a Reply

