Some Books You or I Might Like

I need some “It Gets Better” videos for bipolar. Fortunately I’ve been able to start reading again, and comprehending more than a sentence at a time.

So, I was recommended some of the following books, and others I found on my own. Titles are links from Google Books so you can preview them.

Books on my reading table:

An Unquiet Mind: A Memoir of Moods and Madness by Kay R. Jamison (New York: Vintage Books, 1996)

 

 

 

Madness: A Bipolar Life by Marya Hornbacher (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2008)  Also check out her book Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia (New York: HarperPerennial, 1999)

 

 

Call Me Anna: The Autobiography of Patty Duke by Patty Duke (New York: Bantam Books, 1987)

I’ll also be checking out Brilliant Madness: Living with Manic Depressive Illness by Patty Duke and Gloria Hochman (New York: Bantam, 1997)

 

 

Detour: My Bipolar Road Trip in 4-D by Lizzie Simon (New York: Atria Books, 2002)

 

 

New Hope for People with Bipolar Disorder: Your Friendly, Authoritative Guide to the Latest in Traditional and Complementary Solutions by Jan Fawcett, Bernard Golden, and Nancy Rosenfeld (New York: Three Rivers Press, 2007)

 

 

Wellness Recovery Action Plan (WRAP) by Mary Ellen Copeland (Peach Press, 2011)

 

 

AND … Just to have some other items to read …

Christianity After Religion: The End of Church and the Birth of a New Spiritual Awakening by Diana Butler Bass (HarperOne, 2012)

 

 

I Love It When You  Talk Retro: Hoochie Coochie, Double Whammie, Drop a Dime, and the Forgotten Origins of American Speech by Ralph Keyes (New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2009)

 

 

Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner (New York: Pocket Books, 2001)

6 responses to “Some Books You or I Might Like

  1. Call Me Anna is such a good book and the first that helped me to try to understand what it’s like to live with bipolar disorder.

    • All the books are sitting here, not sure where to dig in… Kinda wish the library had the other Patty Duke book, since Call Me Anna seems more focused on the drama of her early life before she knew she was diagnosed. What did you think?

  2. Have you read Gerald May’s The Dark Night of the Soul? I think it’s just about depression (I haven’t read it since before seminary). As I remember it’s really good.

  3. Pingback: Stories of Hope? | Suddenly Bipolar

Leave a Reply

