Scheduling Nightmare

This week I’ve had a hard time adjusting to my schedule and all the driving I’m doing to stay active and healthy. I forget that each time I go out to do something I have to count in the amount of time and energy it takes to get there and back. This week the commute or activities really got to me. I had to reschedule on one thing which then made me more tired on the day that I rescheduled to. And the tiredness set in very deeply, enough that it affected my mood and brought back some suicidal thoughts. Not a good thing.

So, is it just that I need to give myself more time to adjust to this schedule, or that the schedule still needs tweaking? I try to build in time to rest and rebuild energy and for activities like reading.

Here’s an interesting article from Natasha Tracy’s Breaking Bipolar that might explain why I feel more tired AFTER the volunteer work on the easier days.

Sunday –

  • Morning – Church in Western Springs
  • Afternoon – Laundry
  • Evening – Cook Dinner

Monday –

  • Morning – Volunteer at The LeaderShop in La Grange
  • Afternoon – Therapist Appt in Naperville
  • Evening – Cook Dinner

Tuesday –

  • Morning – Pool Workout
  • Afternoon – Volunteer at The LeaderShop in La Grange
  • Evening – Cook Dinner

Wednesday –

  • Morning – Volunteer at Church in Western Springs
  • Afternoon – Make Menu & Grocery List & Shop
  • Evening – Cook Dinner.   ? Handbell Rehearsal in Western Springs

Thursday –

  • Morning – Pool Workout
  • Afternoon – Therapist Appt in Naperville (sometimes)
  • Evening – Cook Dinner. NAMI Support Group

Friday – Dave Off – Schedule Change

  • Morning – Lazy Morning
  • Afternoon – Movie
  • Evening – Dinner Out

Saturday – Dave Off – Schedule Change

  • Morning – House Cleaning
  • Afternoon – Lazy Afternoon
  • Evening – Cook Dinner
4 responses to “Scheduling Nightmare

  1. Well, since you’re the one who told me about spoon theory I’m going to remind you not to borrow spoons from the next day. You know yourself best, but to me it looks like you might have Wednesday and Thursday overscheduled.

    • Yeah, they feel kinda overscheduled on paper, but it’s Monday and Tuesday that seem the hardest. Probably the volunteering which requires “putting on the face that everything’s okay” for a couple hours. So then by Wed and Thurs it seems even harder.

      • Is there any way you can spread out the volunteering days then so they won’t be one right after the other?

      • I wish I could, but the pool class I take is Tues/Thurs morning, and going there is really important to me. And Dave is off Friday, so that’s a weekend day for us. It just feels like things aren’t balancing out yet. Better than they were, but not there yet.

Leave a Reply

