The Financial Costs of Bipolar

<rant>

bill1. I just received my first bill for the 58 days I was inpatient hospital this winter (plus another 21 outpatient). It only covered the first 11 days and was OVER $30,000!! I have pretty good insurance, which knocked my deductible/copay portion down to $1200 – which again, is only for the First Eleven Days!

Eventually I will run into my co-payment maximum for the year as these bills come in, thank goodness! (I think it’s near $3000, again, I’m lucky). But I will be on an 18-month repayment plan. Do you get that? I will be paying on Winter 2014’s hospitalization until FALL 2015!

What if I need another hospitalization in 2015? Then 2015’s deductible and copay are in effect, and I’m paying on that until 2016, and so forth and so on.

This has been going on for nearly 4 years already. Just 2 months ago, I finally finished paying off Winter 2013’s hospitalization.

 

2. While in the hospital for 58 days, I had to resign my job because I couldn’t work then or with the projected state of recovery I’d be in. Another financial cost. My part-time job could have paid for the medical bills. It could have offered some cushion in my savings, which is fast dwindling. It could have gone toward philanthropic giving which is important to me.

 

insurance3. I’ve spent A YEAR arguing with an insurance company about paying a provider that I see several times a month. I pay a copay amount each time, and so the provider gets some money. But they have not been paid in Over A Year!

I’ve told the insurance company that Medicare won’t pay. I’ve shown them the Explanation of Benefits that shows that Medicare won’t pay. The provider has sent letters saying they don’t work with Medicare – all of which have been lost by the way.

And the insurance company keeps sending out forms to fill out “We think you have another insurance. Please fill out the information here for coordination of benefits.” I think I’ve talked with every coordination of benefits officer they have at the company.

And it seems straightened out. Until a bill is submitted. And a denial comes out. And I ask what do you need to pay this? And I do this and the provider does that, and the bill still doesn’t get paid.

Finally I talk with a super-supervisor (since the company won’t give me a dedicated account representative. “Any of our staff are qualified to handle any issues you may have” my ass.) She understands exactly what is going on, sees what I’ve submitted most recently, thinks all shall be paid.

And then I get a call from her. Nope. My provider needs to send in Another Letter, Identical to the Ones They’ve Sent In Numerous Times. This time it will directly to her and all the appropriate notes will be made so that there should be no more trouble.

A Year.

A Year this has taken.

And I have no faith that this won’t happen again with this insurance company or any others. I spend hours each month coordinating benefits between Medicare and my secondary carriers. What do people do who are not able to do that? At least I have the faculties most of the time to do it and follow what they are saying (even when it’s out of both sides of their mouths).

::SIGH::

</rant>

One response to “The Financial Costs of Bipolar

  1. It is really hard dealing with an insurance company when you have a mental illness- that has been my experience.

Leave a Reply

