What Stable Might Look Like

I’ve been out of the hospital for a month now. That is a milestone for this past year. Last time I was out for a significant period of time was last spring and summer for 6 months. I wasn’t happy, but I was out of the hospital. Not suicidal at all.

It was a mostly good time. I was doing important volunteer work, but it wasn’t feeding me. What was missing was something that seemed meaningful to me and used my skills that I still had from being a pastor. I wanted to speak and teach, two of my greatest strengths and what I imagined I would do in the future. Instead I was volunteering where I was mostly alone.

This time around I am putting together a presentation that I will share with churches. “Hear the story of the Rev. Deborah xxxx and her life with mental illness and how congregations can be involved in mental illness help in and outside their doors.” I’m offering it for free – there is no barrier for small churches with little or no budgets for adult education. I think this will help with reducing my own stigma about myself, as well as stigma in society. Congregations can be powerful actions for change. I can start somewhere.

I feel like I’m doing meaningful work and using the skills I love the best. I hope this keeps me out of the hospital for a very long time.

6 responses to “What Stable Might Look Like

  1. Catherine Robinson

    I am so excited about this new endeavor, Deb. I have thought, off and on, about how I could use my experience with depression for good in the Church. Your way may or may not be for me, but I certainly give thanks for the way you are stepping out in this way. What an important and much-needed ministry!

  2. Such a great idea! Good for you. I’m happy to hear you’re getting to use your skill set.

  3. What a wonderful idea! I love it. Best of luck to you!!

Leave a Reply

